promises promises

I did have a second post ready. Then the internet deleted it. So now we have a nice long post.

This morning I completed a nice 4.5 mile run and leg workout. I ran at just a 10 min. mile pace because as I always say, I run for distance not speed :). My leg workout:

3 sets of 20 squats touching a bench (squat back and touch bench with your rear)
3 sets of 10 single leg squats on a box (interwoven with squats)
3 sets of 12 shoulder bridges
3 sets of 12 hamstring curls on balance ball
calf raises as follows: toes in, toes out, toes forward; 1 set full raises, 1 set hold, 1 set pulse in each position
3 sets of 15 leg lifts
3 sets of 15 hamstring pushes
3 sets of 10 hip lifts
Fin

Tonight I will be making dinner with my dad and we will be having fresh tomato pasta sauce with whole wheat pasta, green beans with lime, and a spinach salad.

I have been living a “rock star” life the past few days. That’s a joke. But seriously, I went to see The Avett Brothers at the House of Blues and a band called Leslie that opened for them. Leslie has a southern rock sound and the Avett Brothers are best described as punk-bluegrass. Accept it and love it! Anyway, the show was amazing, but I was smart enough to take a nap earlier and make it through the night. My brother is friends with the Leslie band and their road-ie. My mom being the hospitable person that she is invited my brother, his two friends, and the band over to the house for lunch on Saturday. I contributed by helping boil the corn, slice veggies, and make vegan PB chocolate chip blondies. Turns out one of the band members and the road-ie are vegetarians. So I made them a big salad to help round out the rest of the side dishes from the BBQ. Everyone was really cool and awesome to hang out with, just because I have never really hung out with anyone in a band that actually tours and has a CD and merchandise. They ended up returning that night after their second show for more food and to spend the night on the couches.

This is what the dogs looked like on the trip to my mom’s:

Some of the delicious-ness from the health food store:


Here is a typical breakfast for me:

My meal during the BBQ on Saturday:
Salad

Dolmas, cucumbers, tomatoes

The salad I made for my mom’s lunch today:

The rest of the spread:
Including fresh peaches and blackberries, soy yogurt, my salad, my mom’s salad, my salad, roasted red pepper hummus, roasted pine nut hummus, corn, and cucumbers…

Yesterday’s lunch for me:

Finally, the pups getting accustomed to the beach:

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

