perfect day

I love all types of music. I will listen to almost anything as long as it is not demeaning. In the efforts of full-disclosure, I really like Hoku. She sings “Perfect Day” that was in the movie Legally Blonde. She is super sugary sweet pop, but I love it. So I have stuff like that on my playlist that will be followed by soulful gut-wrenching blues. I recently went on a music purchasing spree before the big trip. This is the craziness that ensued: Chris Thomas King, Fall Out Boy (really!), Toni Braxton, D’Angelo, Five Iron Frenzy, Operation Ivy, Annie Lennox, Brian McKnight, Duffy, Hoku, Kate Bush, SWV, Ben Folds featuring Voices in Your Head, and Regina Spektor. I forgot how much I love D’Angelo’s voice. Also, just for the record, some of those purchases pushes me further to “queen of the 90s” status.

Food today was whatever I could scrounge up. I ran out of almond milk at breakfast so I knew I had to hit the store today. Plus I wanted to stock up on some road snacks. Lunch was the all too familiar AB&J toast and some carrots with olive hummus. For the road, I have some cinnamon crackers, Kashi heart 2 heart cereal, non-perishable almond milk in a box, blueberries, bananas, grapes, various cashews and “deluxe” mixed nuts (what does that mean?), EL Fudges for J (gross! but I wanted to surprise him with a non-healthy snack so he won’t complain the whole trip) and some Vitamin water. Let’s talk about the vitamin water for a second. I am not a fan. I am of the group that believes you should get all of your nutrition as close to the source as possible. However, after the potassium scare, they told me to interspurse some “electrolyte” beverages into my diet particularly when I am doing marathon workouts (more on that in a moment). I try to ensure that I have a banana and my cereal before workouts so that I have plenty of potassium and can just drink water through my workout. Gatorade has always made me feel super sick, and I attribute that to the copious amounts of sugar in that stuff and my body rejects it. So to avoid the Gatorade, I started with the potassium infused Vitamin water. I don’t like the flavor at all, but if that is what keeps my body in line so be it. Since on the road I have a lack of nutrition due to lack of access to foods, I try and make sure that I have one per day. That way I won’t overdose on water. Dinner was more carrots with hummus, some blueberries and grapes that wouldn’t fit into my bowl :), some cinnamon crackers that also wouldn’t fit, and half a small container of chocolate soy milk for dessert. See what I mean.

Ok now for my workout. I went to the gym tossing around the idea of participating in the Body Pump class after my run. I use that name lightly because it is a copywritten name for Les Mills and you have to be Les Mills certified, use LM music, queues, and use their equipment to use that name. The gym uses it however, so I’m going to let it go. Its basically a barbell class. I got on the treadmill with plans to hit at least 4.5 miles. I ended up skipping the class and hitting 5 miles :). I am so glad that my heart, knees, and hamstrings are holding up to this mileage. Very encouraging! I followed that with an ab workout:

1 set of 25 crunches
3 sets of 25 crunches on stability ball
2 sets of 1 minute intervals of roman twist with 4 lbs medicine ball
1 set of 25 hip lifts
10 reps of Pilates style roll up with legs extended (oh yeah)
25 reps of Pilates corkscrew
25 reps of crunches with 4 lbs medicine ball over head

I always love incorporating some Pilates stuff in my regular strength workouts. If you have never tried it that will get your abs strong in no time.

I anticipate that I will be taking a siesta after tonight. Someone is coming to visit and we are going on a whirlwind tour of the south. Look for postings to return in about two and a half weeks :).

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

