sunshine

I am really glad that I am back into working out regularly. This morning I headed over to the gym and finished 30 minutes on the stair climber, my quickie leg workout (3 sets of 25 squats, 25 lunges each leg, and 25 sumo squats), and then got in the pool. I finished 1000 meters all at once and my shoulder did really well. It was burning during the first 200 meters, but then performed like a champ. I brought my other swimsuit to change into so that I could lay out for a while and perhaps not be so lily white. I only sat out for one hour, but it was really nice and relaxing. I am planning on doing the same if not longer on Thursday.

Food time! So I made food for my in-laws today. Baked spaghetti casserole, garlic bread, PB Banana chocolate chip cookies (those were vegan, shh!), and Mediterranean chicken salad were on the menu. The baked spaghetti recipe will come at a later time, because I am not in the mood to go get it out of the book. Here are the others with some pictures…

First off, I have joined the green monster bandwagon. Jenna over at Eat, Live, Run makes them frequently and has even gotten her partner to enjoy them as well. Mine today involved the following:

1 banana
1/4 c. vanilla soy yogurt
a blender full of organic spinach
a splash of almond milk
a spoonful of almond butter

This is what it looked like:

The verdict: Super Yummy! I have made spinach drinks before, when I was detoxing, but the green monster was way better than those even. I need to get some soy protein powder and I will be in business. I don’t know if I can do them for breakfast, since I leave rather quickly in the morning, but maybe I will try. I am going to play around a little more with the ingredients as well and see what comes up. I want to freeze the bananas to make a colder drink. This one I blended while waiting on the spaghetti to finish and stuck it in the fridge.

The Garlic Bread:

The Spaghetti Casserole, unbaked and baked:

PB Banana Chocolate chip Cookies:

Recipes!

PB Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies:
These are courtesy of FatFree Vegan

1/2 c. natural PB (chunky or smooth)
1/4 c. brown sugar
1/2 c. sugar
3/4 c. mashed banana
1 c. unbleached all purpose flour
1/2 c. whole wheat pastry flour (do not use regular whole wheat flour!)
1 tsp. baking powder
pinch salt
1/4 c. non-dairy chocolate chips (optional)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Cream PB and sugars. Add banana and mix to combine. In a separate bowl, mix flours, baking powder, and salt. Add flour slowly to PB mix and stir to combine. Add chocolate chips, if desired, and stir, but do not overmix. Drop onto baking sheets lined with parchment paper. Flatten with a fork and bake 10 minutes or until golden.

Thoughts: Really good. They aren’t super sweet, but they are thick and delicious. You could make these without the chocolate chips and they would be just as good.

Garlic Bread

6 cloves garlic, chopped
1/4 c. chopped flat-leaf parsley
1/4 c. fresh oregano, chopped
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/2 c. good olive oil
1 ciabatta loaf
2 tbsp non-hydrogenated vegan butter (I used Earth Balance)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Process garlic in a food processor until minced. Add oregano, parsley and salt. Pulse only twice to combine. Heat oil in a small skillet and add garlic mix. Slice ciabatta lengthwise and spread butter on one half. Spread garlic mix on the other half and put two halves together. Wrap in foil and bake 5 minutes. Unwrap loaf and bake 5 more minutes.

Thoughts: This bread is always really good. It is usually a showstopper and yet so easy to make. I’m sure you could mix up the herbs and add basil instead of the parsley and it would be really good.

Mediterranean Chicken Salad
1 c. plain Greek yogurt
2 tbsp fresh lemon juice
1/2 tsp cumin
3 c. cooked chicken
1 c. chopped red pepper
1/2 c. chopped green olives
1/2 c. diced red onion
1/4 c. chopped cilantro
1 can chickpeas, rinsed and drained

Combine first three ingredients. Mix together remaining ingredients in a separate bowl and pour yogurt dressing over top. Toss to combine.

Thoughts: I obviously didn’t try this one. But based on the other ingredients it sounded like it would be really good. Plus it is way more healthy than traditional chicken salad :).

That’s it. I am exhausted! I am glad that I only have to work two more days and then I get another day off. Whew. The next two weeks are going to be super busy so I may be absent for a little while.

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

