b-day

Today is both flag day and the Army’s birthday. That’s right the United States Army was “officially” born today. Some people accuse me of being unpatriotic, however, I believe in a definition of patriotism that is outside of flag t-shirts and “God bless America” bumper stickers. I take great pride and pleasure in the many opportunities that have been afforded to me by this nation and the people that fought for it. That doesn’t mean that I believe it is the most perfect government system nor does it lack criticism. So with that being said, happy flag day and happy birthday to the Army.

Moving on to exercise and food…

After flip flopping back and forth between taking a rest day and running, my legs won and I ran. I hit 4 miles today. Isn’t that funny, how I wasn’t really into running today and it was a picnic to make it to 4 miles. I then kicked my abs into gear with some pilates and other ab exercises. Whew! Tomorrow I plan on hitting the gym for maybe the stairclimber or just walking, followed by an arm workout, followed by a swim, followed by getting some sun, maybe. The TV person is coming tomorrow to see what is wrong with my cable box that used to give me wonderful digital channels for free :). I miss all four of my PBS channels. That was all I was really watching, along with the occasional Food Network show. There are a few shows that I really enjoy on Food Network. I am not a fan of Rachael Ray, mainly because I don’t like her cutsie name for things like “sammies” and she makes way to many burgers for my taste. Nothing wrong with her, just not for me. I love Jamie Oliver, Ina Garten, Giada DiLaurentis, and Elie Kruger (sp?). While they are obviously not vegan, I get great ideas from them plus there are opportunities to make things for J. I used to not enjoy Giada, but her new show Giada at Home I really like. This morning she made an eggplant hummus that I still need to find the recipe. I hate the “challenges” though. I am not into cake decorating at all so I can’t get into them. I respect their artistry, but again, not for me.

Now that my rant is over, onto today’s food. Breakfast was a mix of Quaker’s Cinnamon Oatmeal Squares mixed with Kashi Heart to Heart and light soy milk. I have an uncanny love for cereal and currently have enough cereal to last me for a few months. I can’t help myself when they put delicious cereals on sale buy one get one free! So I have Raisin Bran, more Heart to Heart, and one box of the Oatmeal Squares. For lunch I enjoyed two pieces Ezekiel bread toasted with almond butter and strawberry jam. For an afternoon snack, I enjoyed a handful of Salt and Pepper Cashews before heading to the food store. After my run I made an organic Boca burger and sandwiched it with some organic spinach, cucumbers, green olives, smoked salt, dijon mustard, black olive hummus, and a tomato. It was really good! For dessert I just finished a little bit of organic strawberry sorbet. Very refreshing!

So I am not making anything much this week that is vegan. I decided to make a meal for my in-laws, but knew that if I fixed something vegan they probably wouldn’t eat it. So I am making a baked spaghetti casserole (made healthier), some herb infused olive oil garlic bread, a Mediterranean chicken salad (look mom no mayo!), and sneaking in some PB banana chocolate chip cookies that are totally vegan. Shh. I am fixing the chicken salad, because she can’t reach the microwave, so this way she can just get it straight from the fridge.

Now I’m going to make a note about being vegan and making non-vegan food. I do not judge others, just like I don’t want people to judge my eating habits. Therefore, I am also not going to force others to become vegan. That goes against my compassionate lifestyle and opinions. I encourage people to be informed about what they are eating and demand safe healthy foods to consume. My spouse is not vegan, no one in my family is vegan, and currently none of my close friends are vegan. I am ok with that, because they are ok with me. Sometimes my husband jokes and says “I bet you wish I was vegan.” I always tell him that I want him to be vegan if that is what he wants for himself. I am not out to “make” anyone any way. If I didn’t make dinner for my spouse, he would eat out all the time or constantly have microwave meals, or eat from the grill and not have any veggies other than corn and potatoes. Therefore, I cook non-vegan foods for him so that he can have wholesome and healthy meals made with love and not out of a box. The same goes for my in-laws. They would be eating box meals the whole time that my MIL is out of commission and I want to make something they can enjoy that will not also contribute to the downfall of their health. So there you have it. If you want more on being a vegan in an omnivore environment check out this post

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

