Insufficient

I must first start off by talking about how awesome I think Stephen Colbert is. I have always been a fan, but after his week of shows in Iraq, I have become much more of a fan. You can watch the series of shows at Colbert Nation and I really recommend them. While he is funny and satirical, there is true meaning to his points. Also, I was touched by some of the things that were said by guests as well as Stephen during the shows. This was his final sign-off: “I want to thank the troops here and around the world. I am rarely at a loss for words but when I think about all you have sacrificed for these six years it really seems insufficient to say thank you and really inappropriate to say holy sh*t. So I’ll just say what I hope you can all say soon, honey, I’m coming home.”

In other news, I went to the gym this morning and cranked out another 3.5 miles. I did a brief leg workout afterwards and skipped swimming. I was pretty dehydrated so I cut the workout short so that I could relax a little and re-hydrate and eat breakfast. Ever since the whole “you drink too much water” statement was made I have been paranoid about drinking water. Now I realize that I can drink water as long as I have a balanced diet to balance out the water with nutrients. I drank plenty of water today and am feeling much better about it. I have my Nalgene bottle beside me as I type. Tomorrow morning I am hoping to go for a long swim and forego strength training until the evening. I can do some yoga flows and push-ups and will be ok.

Still the same meals happening for the most part. I had a Kashi Mango Black Beans and Rice microwave meal and some blueberries for lunch. For a snack, I enjoyed some soy vanilla yogurt with more blueberries :). Tonight for dinner, I made a small spinach, mushroom, blackberry, cauliflower, green olive, honey dijon dressing salad and some Ezekiel bread with jam and almond butter. I seriously hope to be cooking this weekend to share more foods and recipes with the blogosphere. Until then why don’t you mosey on over to Wing-It Vegan and enter to win an awesome Healthy Chef 4 in 1 appliance!

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Insufficient

  1. Laura says:

    I love Stephen Colbert, and we watched his Operation Iraqi Stephen shows all week. Love him. He's cute with or without his hair. 🙂

    Reading about all the exercise you do makes me very tired. HA! And I love reading about all your cooking – you inspire me! Can I make a request? I am on the hunt for a reasonably healthy evening snack – Gary and I have gotten in the habit of ice cream at night, which is not really great, and I want to offer him something sort of sweet but not so unhealthy for him to have at night versus ice cream. I saw you had some sorbet – I will have to grab some of that next time I'm in the store. Got any other suggestions for a late night snacker? 🙂

  2. I'm No Heroine says:

    I haven't gotten used to him without his hair. You can always make a request. I would definitely go with some sorbet if you are into ice cream. They make soy ice cream in a variety of flavors which may also work. I enjoy the sorbet because I think it is refreshing and only has water, fruit and sugar in it. As far as other ideas: a banana, a handful of nuts (like cashews or almonds, that would be about 150 cals), soy yogurt with fresh fruit (I love vanilla Silk yogurt with fresh blueberries, but I think peaches would yummy too), watermelon, a *small* piece of dark chocolate with almonds, grapes. Hopefully that helps. If I think of anything else I will let you know.

Leave a Reply

