broken

I think I broke my body today. My mind and my body are in disagreement. In protest, my body decided to break. I have been wanting to swim ever since they opened the pool. I love to swim but it is sort of like a sick disease. I cannot get in a pool and just “hang out” or swim around and do flips and float. No, no. I get into water and immediately begin swimming laps. I have been swimming for as long as I can remember and have never been afraid of the water. I swam competitively in high school and loved every minute. So now, when I can swim laps for general health and wellness, I LOVE it. So I planned on a mini alternative Brick workout (brick workouts are a training method for triathlons where you perform two legs of the race back to back). I always do my bricks backwards, because once I am finished swimming, I cannot run in training. So I did an interval run (2 minutes jog 1 minute sprint) for 6 repetitions and then finished out with a walk while reading my book. Then I did a leg workout and this is where my mind and body began to fall into a bad place with each other. I finished the leg workout and was excited to get into the pool. I jumped into the pool and cranked out 100 meter warm-up, 100 meter for time, 200 and 300 meters for endurance. I did 50 meters of water jogging and then stretched and got out of the pool.

After returning home, I got the dogs out for their bath which is no small chore. I then bathed myself and that is when my body broke. Everything caught up to me and I am now sore all over!

To top it all off, prior to my workout, I was a little hungry and grabbed a banana. Once I got everything done it was 1100 and I had not had anything but the banana! I grabbed some Salt and Pepper Cashews, which are delicious, to make it through the preparation of lunch. I also had four slices of crusty wheat baguette with black olive hummus as an appetizer:

Then I fixed my salad:

That’s organic spinach, cabbage, carrots, blackberries (a little tart!), cucumbers, califlower, chopped black olives, and green onions. I made Sweet Honey Dijon and used local organic Orange Blossom Honey :). It was really good.

Then I made PB chocolate chip blondies and some brownies. The brownies were from The Joy of Vegan Baking and the jury is still out. There is something not right. I take one bite and think it is the flavor and then I take another bite and think it is the texture. I’m taking them to work tomorrow to a trusted friend who is not afraid to tell me the truth :). The blondies on the other hand…I could have eaten the entire tray! I used Veggie Girl’s recipe for Fig Almond Blondies and used 1/2 c. crunchy natural PB and 1/2 c. semi-sweet dairy-free chocolate chips instead of the almonds and figs. It worked really well and provided for just a hint of PB flavor and velvety chocolate chips.
PB chocolate chip blondies:

Brownies:

Tonight for dinner I had a delicious vegan organic Boca on Sesame Seed Ezekiel Bread, with dijon mustard, a touch of black olive hummus, cucumbers, and spinach with a side of watermelon. Then I had a small square of blondie for dessert :). Tomorrow is going to be a whirlwind day, and may change my course of things for the coming months. More on that later…

Alternatively, I found an awesome call for essays on women and the media. I want to submit an abstract about the way that homemakers are preceived in the media versus reality. We will see how that comes along. Maybe I will be published in the collection! I am actively getting back into the writing thing because outside of cooking it is something that I love. I will have a lot of free time soon, so that will give me a break from the back and mind breaking labor that will be sorting all of our possessions.

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to broken

  1. Laura says:

    That salad looks massively delicious. I am now deciding that berries are my new addition to salads.

    I was listening to a podcast at the gym yesterday while I did some weights and they mentioned http://www.thisiswhyyourethin.blogspot.com. It reminded me of your blog (altho with a little less writing) and so I thought I'd send it on.

Leave a Reply

