handbags

I am really not into designers and accessories and stuff. I have some things that I mostly got as hand-me-downs or in antique stores. Today however, they were having a 70% sale at a local JC Penny’s. My current handbag was in dire need of retiring, since the liner was tearing out and it was just a touch too small. I had been looking for something for a while because I am very picky when spending money on something that I will use a lot. Luckily I was able to get three handbags for ten dollars each! Original price = $60 each! I was proud. And they are totally vegan.

After I said that I rarely eat out, I realized today that I was eating out for the second day in a row. Oops. But I can’t even remember the last time I ate out prior to that. Today I went out with three friends from different departments at work, as sort of a last hoorah. We went to an Italian place that is not really all that “authentic” but their decor is really awesome (50s kitch all over the place) and they have a salad and bruschetta to die for. So the salad, its a mix of wild greens with housemade balsamic vinegrette. The bruschetta is what you should really go for. It is super garlic-ky…like with real garlic, not imitation stuff. Then they use yellow and red tomatoes and fresh basil on a bed of greens with crostinis. I could just eat it as a salad! They previously had a delicious “breads and spreads” appetizer that was delicious. There was a sun-dried tomato spread, a pesto spread, and my favorite, a head of roasted garlic. They had since removed that from the menu. Oh well, as long as the bruschetta is still there, I will still go. No pictures, unfortunately.

I was able to drag myself to the gym this morning. Actually it wasn’t really a situation where I had to force myself. I am definitely getting back into the swing of working out. I actually woke on my own at 0600 and lazily got ready. I made it to the gym around 0645 and that is where the forcing began. It was cross-training day. I*Hate*Cross-Training*Day! I love to run so when I have to do something other than running I get bored and generally feel like I will never finish! But I sucked it up and got on the stairclimber for 20 minutes and the elliptical for 25 (boo). I hate the elliptical. But I love my knees, so I try and give them a little break, even if my mind is disappointed. I also got a killer lower body workout in. All before work started! That is because I didn’t have to go in until 1030. I get to go in tomorrow at 1030 as well, but its supposed to be a rest day. The pool opens at 0730, so potentially I could swim and get some abs in, because it is cardio rest day, not muscle rest day :).

I haven’t made a food store list yet, but some sort of nut butter will be on it. I’m thinking about making a salad dressing and doing some salads. The inspiration is just not there right now. I’m debating a Whole Foods run tomorrow after work, but it will depend a lot on my willingness to fight traffic.

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

