tired

And at this moment I feel like this:

You must think that all the dogs do is beg for more food and sleep. That is pretty much their lives. But they are cute. Heinz had a good visit with the vet, which basically means he didn’t bite anyone and didn’t hyperventalate. We think that the last of the mange is gone! I have to continue with the double shampoos once every two weeks, but at least he is done with the toxic chemical dips. He is also glad to not be so itchy.

I went to the gym straight away after dropping Heinz off at the house. 3.25 run today! It wasn’t that bad either. I am going to play with the distances and my speed to sort of ramp myself back up to distance running. I also need to get my tail running outside more often. After about three miles the treadmill bores me to tears! I also sucked it up and did a upper body workout. I have lost so much strength in my upper body. It was grueling but I made it through it. Now my muscles are crying for sleep and to really just not do anything again for maybe three days. Sadly that will not happen. So far so good with the strength training. Lunges and squats tomorrow. I know I’m excited.

Now onto the meals this week. Or meal as the case may be. I had a major craving for spring rolls. Not the fried ones, but the ones wrapped in rice paper. That fell through when I could not find rice paper :(. So I made lettuce wraps instead, which worked out ok, but that means that I can’t make them in advance. Oh well. I did make a Baked Barley and Brown Rice dish as well as Lemon Coconut Quick Bread and PB Banana Bread. Onto recipes, notes, and accolades:


Baked Barley and Wild (Brown) Rice Casserole
1/3 c. uncooked wild rice
4 c. water
1 c. barley
1 tbsp vegan non-hydrogenated butter
1 c. sliced mushrooms
2 c. veggie broth
1 can sliced water chestnuts
1/4 c. slivered almonds
1 envelope vegan onion soup mix
1/2 tsp garlic salt
1/2 tsp onion powder

Combine rice and 1 c. water in a saucepan. Bring to a boil and simmer, covered, for 50-60 minutes. Cook barley 2 minutes in butter. Add mushrooms and cook 2 more minutes. Transfer to a baking dish (13×9) and stir in broth, water chestnuts, almonds, soup mix, garlic salt, onion powder, rice and remaining water. Cover and bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour stirring two times. Uncover and bake 5-10 minutes longer.

Notes! I didn’t have any wild rice so I used brown rice instead. I don’t know how long I cook the rice, as I do it by taste and feel, so you can just cook it according to the bag directions I guess. I was also expecting sort of a cake type consistency in the final product (I don’t know why) but it definitely wasn’t cakey. I would probably cut the water back at least 1/2 cup if not 1 cup. I also added half a chopped vidalia onion when I put the mushrooms in to cook. I didn’t have slivered almonds and used whole. And finally, I didn’t like that the water chestnuts were not bite size so I got diced water chestnuts instead. Really delicious overall and definitely a hearty meal for winter.


Lemon Coconut Quick Bread

(Original recipe by Susan at Farmgirl Fare)

2 1/2 c. unbleached all purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 c. sugar
2 c. shredded unsweetened coconut
3 tsp Ener-G egg replacer
6 Tbsp water
3/4 c. unsweetened plain soy milk (I used 8th Continent Light)
1/2 c. fresh lemon juice
1 tbsp lemon zest
1 tsp vanilla
1 stick Earth Balance, melted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix flour, baking powder, and salt. Stir in sugar and coconut. With an electric mixer, mix egg replacer with water until thick. Add milk, juice, zest, and vanilla to egg replacer. Create a well inside the dry ingredients and pour in wet ingredients. Stir until combined. Add melted butter stirring until incorporated. Do not overmix! Pour into greased loaf pan and bake 65-70 minutes.

Notes! So I veganized this recipe. I was scared, because it is the first baking experiment transitioning a non-vegan treat into a vegan one. But it turned out great! The changes didn’t overpower the flavor of the lemon and coconut which shined through. I did find that when I mixed the wet and dry ingredients, it didn’t incorporate all of the dry ingredients. I think it is because there would be more liquid in the eggs than in the replacer. But when I added in the butter all was well. The bread has a delicious crusty top with a soft moist middle. Be careful though, because coconut is one of the few (if not only) plant based items that has saturated fat. While the bread is delicious, eat in moderation if you are concerned about your cholesterol :).


PB Banana Bread

Original recipe by VeggieGirl and found here

I didn’t make any significant changes, so on to the notes:

Notes! I only used three bananas and didn’t put the bananas on top. This was because I only had three :). I also didn’t measure the soy milk that I used, as I was really excited. I also tasted the batter 🙂 and it was delicious, which made me more excited. It says to let it bake 45-50 minutes, but mine wasn’t done until about 55-60 minutes. When I sliced it, it was super moist and not to mention delicious!

Ok that is actually it for this week. My workout made me super tired today and hindered my ability to actually *stand* and *cook*.

Onto another work week….

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

