I’m not even supposed to be here today…

It was definitely one of those “why-did-I-even-show-up-to-work” day. I am also having some sort of issue with my right eye, which isn’t helped by staring at a computer screen all day.

I am really impressed with the homemade tomato/pasta sauce. It was so easy and yet incredibly flavorful! I really need to work on canning that stuff because it will only work when tomatoes are in season. I did get what looks to be a delicious Roasted Beet Risotto recipe from Christina Cooks. She is really awesome and also has a great story about becoming a macrobiotic vegan.

Yesterday I hit 3 miles! That is the first time that I have done that since I got out of the hospital. I was very proud of my body for making it :). Today as a treat, I let my body take it a bit easier. Since I have been running slower and have hit my short term mileage, I am going to try and get back up to training pace. I typically train at a 10 minute mile pace. I am completely comfortable with that, because I know that if I am running anything over a 5K, I will be able to keep that pace. For the 5Ks my range varies and I am usually happy as long as I come in under 30 minutes. The fastest I ever ran a 5K was just under 27 minutes. It was a November run in Oklahoma and it was freezing cold! It was also dusk so there was no sun to warm anything. It was one of those Christmas light runs that I really enjoyed. Of course, J effortlessly beat the pants off of me, but that is what happens when your legs are a mile long! Anyway, I ran at a quicker pace for 1.5 miles (5.5 mph which I still feel like I’m dragging) and then another half mile at the 10 minute pace. It was definitely a big difference and I will have to work myself back up to running the whole distance at that pace. I was dying but my legs are letting me know now that they are tired. I walked for the remainder of my 50 minutes (as always) and read my book. I am thinking about taking tomorrow and Saturday off. I am looking forward to being able to keep a more regular training schedule once I am unemployed. Also, I am interested in taking a run on the beach.

I was hoping to read some of my book at work, but of course that was derailed due to the massive work issues. The book is really interesting. It is making me think critically about food and agriculture and the disconnect that most people have from it, including myself. I wish I could put more time into the book, but right now, its not in the cards.

I have been watching Rick Steves’ Europe which J incidentally hates but will typically give in and watch with me. Based on his shows thus far, I am looking forward to exploring old England, Spain, Portugal, and Istanbul. He went to an awesome Henri Matisse museum in the French Riviera and another awesome Pablo Picasso museum in his home in Barcelona. This is going to be an interesting situation!

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

