Fridays

I tend to get a little bored at work on Fridays and Saturdays. It is especially more difficult with me being the last one in the office. So while for most Fridays signal an end to the work week, it is the bane of my work existence.
I spent the day thinking over grocery lists and what to make for the upcoming week. I finished the brown rice pilaf and decided that next time I will be adding maybe slivered almonds and some soy sauce. I added the soy sauce and it added a delicious flavor. I will probably add it after the rice has cooked and the almonds in as the rice cooks.
I had a conversation at work about food. Even being a vegan and health-conscious, I love food. It is so wonderful and there are endless possibilities of flavor combinations! Growing up I will never forget my mom cooking dinner almost ever evening. Even though she had worked all day, she made sure to put her special touch on every dinner. We rarely went out to fast-food restaurants or restaurants in general. I always keep things on hand at my home as well, so that if someone stops by, I have something to put out for them to enjoy. When J was in training, I remember always being happy to feed him as well as a friend lunch of some sort. My mom was that way as well. She always seemed to have everything you needed on hand and could make the greatest meals in the smallest of kitchens. We always over cook, but its done on purpose, so that everyone has enough to eat.
Now that we have had that trip down memory lane…I ran again tonight 🙂
It really takes a lot for me to not just take off and run 4 miles. I added a 1/4 mile tonight though which is a bit faster than the “1/4 mile a week” that I thought would be the best way to progress. So 1.25 miles tonight and then I walked to finish out my 50 minutes. I really need to get more strength training in, so I’m going to be working on a plan for that. Perhaps I can do the strength piece in the mornings and then complete my cardio at night.
Tomorrow I will be visiting Chamberlin’s for the first time. I need to get some non-hydrogenated shortening and also just as a little food field trip. Perhaps I will stop by Whole Foods on the way as well. For some reason, our Publix has every variety of Boca burger except the vegan one! Hooray for food trips!

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

