Rain

I enjoy a good rain and thunderstorm every now and then. It has been a while since it rained around here and luckily this week seems to be ushering in the summer rain season. In Florida during the summer you can pretty much set your watch by the rain depending on where you are in the state. It finally rained tonight and is supposed to rain all week! It does make for a lazy night as I decided to not workout at all today and will probably go to bed early.
I am looking for new books to read, since I have read the ones that are readily available to me. I haven’t decided what is next, so for now, I have to stall with magazines and my recipe project. I’m trying to get all of my recipe clippings written onto note cards so that I can then organize them neatly for transportation over seas.

I enjoyed my whipped peas with mushrooms at work today. Along with the remainder of a watermelon quarter (I ate the whole quarter in two days) that was delicious. I love watermelon and feel that it is the only thing that can make up for the end of strawberry season. For dinner, I had my favorite veggie platter (sliced tomatoes and cucumbers, salted) along with soy bacon and a little peach sorbet for dessert. I usually have a little avocado with my veggies, but as seen in a previous post, there were no acceptable avocados at the store.

The cupcakes were a hit at work, and I managed to not eat half of them. Most of the critiques were that it was more like a muffin (just as I suspected), but was still really delicious. I think J may even try one. I always like to hear what people think about food. Tomorrow I get to speak at our bi-weekly meeting about healthy things. I’ve been discussing exercise/gym myths lately, and that is probably what I will speak about tomorrow. I have also been a recipe “fairy” and donating my recipe clippings that have been copied to a general community pile for the picking. I am all about educating people so that they can make informed decisions about their life!

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rain

  1. Anonymous says:

    I had the unfortunate opportunity of eating a whole seedless watermelon by myself last week. I really like watermelon and it was a GREAT price at the grocery store. It was seedless and smaller than your normal seeded watermelon, but still a watermelon nonetheless. I cut it up and ate it Tues. supper, Wed. lunch and supper, and Thurs. lunch and supper. And when I ate it, I ate a LOT. Haha. That’s def. the last time I buy a whole watermelon while I’m living alone! 🙂
    ~JER

Leave a Reply

