Running deaf? and Mexican Shepherd’s Pie

I had a great race this morning.  Almost half-way through the first mile, it almost became a terrible race.  I love music.  The only time that I don’t workout with music is when I am with someone else.  Even then sometimes I will have one earbud in, just so I can keep pace.  So back to my race this morning…my iPod died.  I was charging it on the way to the race and when I went to the starting line I thought that it was halfway charged.  Nope.  However, I realized the joy of not running with music.  The race I participated in this morning was a women’s only run.  No matter how you feel about it, I enjoy them.  I love seeing the people cheering on the runners, and since its mostly women, you see husbands/boyfriends/partners cheering on their significant others and children cheering on their moms.  It warms my heart to see people cheering for the women in their lives as they tackle something that could be very difficult for them.  Many women-only racers are “first-time” racers.  The fact that people are out there cheering them on and being positive about their accomplishment is amazing.  Not only that, but complete strangers were cheering me on.  I love that! 

Anyway, I wanted to post some of my favorite running/workout songs (this is only a smattering).  The keys for me when picking songs for my playlist is speed (it is really difficult for me to keep pace when the song is slow…I use slow songs for weight training) and something that I genuinely enjoy listening to while running.  Most of these songs I would not listen to unless I was working out, but that works for me.  Here we go (in no particular order):

- “Sweet Nothing”  Calvin Harris feat. Florence Welch

- “Halfway Gone” Lifehouse

- “Where Dem Girls At” Flo Rida and Nicki Minaj (pretty much any Flo Rida song works for me, except the “Whistle” song….I’ll forgive him for that one)

- “Valerie” Steve Winwood (I also enjoy “Call on Me” by Eric Prydz which is a remix of this one)

- “Bon Bon” Pitbull (be aware that this is completely in Spanish and I pretty much love any Pitbull song)

- “We Run the Night” Havana Brown

- “Aeroplane” Red Hot Chili Peppers (of course I have to listen to the Chili Peppers…that funky bass line just makes me happy)

- “All I Want” A Day to Remember (this is actually a really great band out of Ocala)

- “Brother Lee” Citizen Cope (this was the last song that played in my first half marathon…never will forget that)

- “Hurts Like Heaven” Coldplay (Coldplay’s Parachutes album was playing in the period prior to my very first triathlon)

- “The Pretender” Foo Fighters (starts slow but kicks in quick with a distinct drum beat to pace yourself with)

- basically anything from the Pirates of the Caribbean soundtrack

- “Points of Authority/99 Problems/One Step Closer” Jay-Z and Linkin Park mashup

- “Blow (remix)” Ke$ha (I would never just listen to this as I was driving around, but the distinctive beat is perfect for pacing)

- “Milkshake” Kelis (only because the milkshake brings all the boys to the yard, so you have to keep the milkshake in shape)

- “Excuse Me Mister” No Doubt

- “Graceland” Paul Simon (this was the turning point in my night run for Ragnar, when I actually started to relax a little bit and not hate myself lol)

- “Bring the Noise” Public Enemy vs. Benny Benassi

- “Bloodclot” Rancid

You get the idea.  Also, you understand why if someone ever steal my iPod they would think I was schizophrenic.  My music love is all over the place.

In food news, I was really working furiously in the kitchen today.  Strawberry harvest season is upon us in Florida and its awesome.  This also means that the Strawberry Festival will be happening soon and who doesn’t love risking their lives on rides that break down easily for transport and watching pig races.  It is a great place to see the locals in their natural habitat.

Anyway, after slicing about 10 pints of strawberries I think I’m set for a while.  Additionally, I did the prep work for my “Mexican Shepherd’s Pie.”  Basically you saute onions, shredded carrots, and bell peppers then add black beans and corn and cook for about 15 minutes so the flavors can mix.  Once that is done you add a freshly chopped tomato and turn off the heat.  Season as you like (I finished it with some homemade seasoning and lime juice).  When you are ready to serve, you make a little guacamole (I just mash half an avocado with lime juice and some salt) and heat the black bean mixture.  Spread the guacamole over the top of the black bean mix and enjoy!  It is so yummy. 

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

